Earth Imaging Journal: Remote Sensing, Satellite Images, Satellite Imagery
Breaking News
Maxar Secures NOAA Approval to Provide Non-Earth Imaging Services to Government and Commercial Customers
WESTMINSTER, Colo.- Maxar Technologies (NYSE:MAXR) (TSX:MAXR), provider of comprehensive...
AEye Announces Groundbreaking Immersive Lidar Experience for Attendees at CES 2023
DUBLIN, Calif.- AEye, Inc. (NASDAQ: LIDR), a global leader in...
WIMI Hologram Academy: Multi-Dimensional Holographic Vision Opens A New Chapter In Cyberspace Mapping
HONG KONG - WIMI Hologram Academy, working in partnership...
Foursquare to Power Geospatial Data Visualization in Amazon SageMaker
NEW YORK-Foursquare, the leading independent location technology company, exclusively...
UK govt funds rocket that could allow us to escape solar system
LONDON- DECEMBER 2022:  Pulsar Fusion, a UK rocket company that...

October 29, 2015
Huerta Announces UAS Registration Task Force Members

October 29, 2015 — Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Administrator Michael Huerta today announced the membership of the Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Registration Task Force. Earl Lawrence, Director of the FAA’s UAS Integration Office, and Dave Vos of Google X will co-chair the group.


Department of Transportation (DOT) Secretary Anthony Foxx and Administrator Huerta announced the formation of the Task Force last week. The Task Force membership represents a range of stakeholder viewpoints, interests and knowledge of the objectives and scope. Task Force membership was by invitation only and participation is voluntary.


Interested parties who are not members of the Task Force may submit comments to the!searchResults;rpp=25;po=0;s=FAA-2015-4378;fp=true;ns=true” target=”_blank”>public docket. The Federal Register notice is available for viewing” target=”_blank”>here.


Sec. Foxx set a deadline of Nov. 20 for the Task Force to complete its recommendations and work is already underway. The group will meet formally from Nov. 3-5 before developing recommendations on a streamlined registration process and minimum requirements on which unmanned aircraft should be registered. Given the urgency of this issue, the DOT and FAA will move expeditiously to consider the Task Force’s recommendations.

Task Force Members include:

Nancy Egan – 3D Robotics

Richard Hanson – Academy of Model Aeronautics

George Novak – Aerospace Industries Association

Chuck Hogeman and Randy Kenagy – Air Line Pilots Association

Jim Coon – Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Sean Cassidy – Amazon Prime Air

Ben Gielow– Amazon Retail

Justin Towles – American Association of Airport Executives

Brian Wynne – Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International

Parker Brugge – Best Buy

Douglas Johnson – Consumer Electronics Association

Brendan Schulman – DJI

Paul Feldman – General Aviation Manufacturers Association

Dave Vos – GoogleX (Co-Chair)

Tony Bates – GoPro

Matt Zuccaro – Helicopter Association International

Mike Fergus – International Association of Chiefs of Police

John Perry – Management Association for Private Photogrammetric Surveyors

Brandon Declet – Measure

Randall Burdett – National Association of State Aviation Officials

Sarah Wolf – National Business Aviation Association

Baptiste Tripard – Parrot

Tyler Collins – PrecisionHawk

Gregory McNeal – Small UAV Coalition

Thomas Head – Walmart


Along with the FAA and DOT, the following federal agencies will provide expert support to the Task Force: Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Homeland Security, Department of the Interior, Office of Management and Budget, National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the Department of State.

Comments are closed.