Earth Imaging Journal: Remote Sensing, Satellite Images, Satellite Imagery
Breaking News
Maptitude Team Provides Sponsorship for MGGG Geometry of Redistricting Workshops
NEWTON, MASSACHUSETTS (USA) - The Metric Geometry and Gerrymandering...
2017 South Australian Spatial Excellence Awards Winners Announced
The 2017 Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards South Australia...
Cartegraph and CycloMedia Partner to Deliver Timely, Objective Asset Data to the Public Sector
Cartegraph, a leader in high-performance government software and services,...
Formal Partnership of HeiGIT/GIScience Heidelberg with Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team (HOT) Announced
Today HeiGIT/GIScience Research Group Heidelberg and the Humanitarian OpenStreetMap...
ArcGIS Experts, GEO Jobe, Celebrates 18 Years in GIS Software Development, Services, UAV Mapping
Established in 1999, GEO Jobe is pleased to be...

July 23, 2013
URISA Focuses on Public Participation GIS in July 29 Webinar

Des Plaines, Ill., July 16, 2013—On Monday, July 29, URISA will present an educational webinar on “Public Participation GIS: Using GIS to Support Community Decision Making”. This 90 minute webinar will explore the use of GIS in community decision making, including the process of entering into engagements and the utilization of GIS techniques and software that can be adapted for use in community settings. Examples of both government and community-led projects that encourage citizen participation and engagement will be shown. This webinar is an excellent overview of PPGIS and the methodologies that are utilized to implement Community Decision Making with GIS.

When:                  Monday, July 29, 2013

Time:                     12:00 Noon EDT/11:00 AM CDT/10:00 AM MDT/9:00 AM PDT

Duration:             90 minutes

Fee:                       URISA Members $20 / Non-Members $35

Both of the instructors for this educational webinar are certified to teach URISA’s eight-hour workshop, Public Participation GIS: Using GIS to Support Community Decision Making, which is one of the organization’s most-requested and highly-reviewed courses:

  • Judy Colby-George, Principal, Spatial Alternatives, Yarmouth, ME: Judy Colby-George has over eighteen years experience on a wide variety of GIS projects. She works with a number of clients on projects ranging from needs assessment to data conversion to customized programming designed to meet specific needs. She specializes in using GIS for planning, public participation, and environmental applications. 
  • Laxmi Ramasubramanian, PhD, AICP – Hunter College, City University of New York (CUNY): Laxmi Ramasubramanian is a planner with over 10 years experience in the design and implementation of participatory action research projects in the USA and abroad. She is currently the President of the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science.

For more information and registration, visit http://www.urisa.org/URISAConnect.

Comments are closed.