Earth Imaging Journal: Remote Sensing, Satellite Images, Satellite Imagery
Breaking News
The 2018 Commercial UAV Expo, Incorporating Drone World Expo, to be Held in October in Las Vegas
LAS VEGAS, NV - Following the acquisition of Drone...
Martin Instrument and Western Data Systems (WDS) Announce Merger to Create AllTerra Central
AUSTIN, Texas - Martin Instrument and Western Data Systems...
Drone Delivery Canada to Expand Testing Program to The United States of America
TORONTO - Drone Delivery Canada 'DDC or the Company'...
Alteryx Announces Premier Partners: Deliverers of Excellence in Data Science and Analytics
IRVINE, Calif.- Alteryx, Inc. (NYSE: AYX), revolutionizing business through data...
thinkWhere Takes a Global View with theMapCloud Platform
Scottish Geographic Information Systems (GIS) company thinkWhere is setting...

January 2, 2015
Russia Launches Earth Observation Satellite Atop Soyuz Rocket

An advanced Resurs-P Earth remote sensing satellite lifted off from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan aboard a Russian Soyuz-2.1b rocket.

"The launch of Soyuz-2.1b was carried out as planned - at 21.55 Moscow time [18:55 GMT]. The separation of the satellite is expected at 22.05 Moscow time [19:05 GMT]," the official said.

The Resurs-P satellite, which has a 5-year service life, carries an imaging payload consisting of high-resolution, hyper-spectral and area survey instruments.

The 6,392-kilogram (some 14,000 pounds) satellite is the second of five Resurs-P satellites planned. The first Resurs-P satellite has been in orbit since June 2013.

Another Resurs-P satellite's construction began in May 2012, and the launch is expected in the end of 2015.

The Resurs-P satellites, where P stands for prospective, are a modernized version of the Resurs-F1 satellites, which saw their first launches in 1979. The Resurs-F1s were constructed based on the Zenit spy satellite.

Comments are closed.